Sunday, October 9, 2011

Are your French Fried Gluten Free? Are you sure?

I am not a Fast food person -but for those of you who are; McD's French Fries are no longer GF:
Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid
pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to
preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.
Some celiac forums are claiming since they can eat it and it doesn't make them sick, it must be gluten free. Be careful of what you read, and find the source.
Personally regardless of the dedicated friers, Mcdonalds still does not claim the fries are gluten free, why? Cause the average fast food worker isn't really all that careful of cross contamination - they are getting paid minimum wage, which is honorable that they have a job, but commonly, they aren't that concerned with handling buns then fries. they aren't working in an environment that is allergy friendly.
Just keep that in mind when you shop for a quick break for food.

No comments:

Post a Comment